New York City
Leave a Comment

Back in New York (For Now)

I can’t believe there was a time in my life when I didn’t like smoked salmon. I mean, come on. Look at this spread from Russ and Daughters Cafe (and then click on the hyperlink so you can see a video of them putting it together).

I was only gone a week, but it feels like a lot has changed here in Brooklyn. Well, it has. I’m (f)unemployed! And my counter-strategy for staying sane between emailing/ InMailing/ semi-fretting about my future is exploring yet another previously sort of unfamiliar neighborhood, Williamsburg, on foot.

A large part of my genius, non-patented, neighborhood discovery plan involves frequenting various coffee shops, which must have internet to fuel my caffeine-induced productivity. Some winners in the area are Toby’s Estate (they do public cuppings every Saturday at 10 AM) and Freehold Brooklyn (feels like a cool hotel lobby bar, but there is actually no hotel).

Screen Shot 2015-11-12 at 4.28.46 PM
(I spend a lot of time here.)

A few weeks ago, something super duper exciting happened: the Museum of Food and Drink finally opened its doors. It’s squeaky clean and I’m optimistic about the future of the institution given their strong first showing: several exhibits about artificial flavors, such as MSG and vanillin.

IMG_3292

Unlike average museums, they actually encourage you to smell and even eat (gasp!) things. The coolest part is this big scent-creating gadget that looks somewhat like it came out of a scary science fiction novel, but also lights up, much to the delight of small children (or me).

IMG_3287

I’m trying to take advantage of being in New York for a few more weeks before heading home westward for Thanksgiving, so I even met a friend for a drink last night all the way up in the Upper East Side (say what?!) at The Penrose. Also headed down to D.C. on my good friend the Amtrak Regional this weekend to connect with some friends, ride around on the Red line, and perhaps pop into this extravaganza at Union Market.

Leave a Reply

