Something Else
Leave a Comment

A Look Back at 2015

Tortilla espanola, salmorejo, crab and avocado salad from a cooking class in Sevilla with my parents.

My 2015 was full of tasty travels. A scroll through my iPhone photos made me a little bit dizzy, so I’ve distilled a few snapshots here to reflect on the past year–where I’ve been (mostly Northern Italy) and what I’ve been eating (pizza, of course).

IMG_0347

Oh, Gennaro’s pizza, how I miss you. The crust, so perfectly chewy. You would think you couldn’t possibly eat the whole thing in one sitting, and then next thing you know, it’s disappeared. There were a few times when I went three times in a week…  a slippery slope for sure.

IMG_0443

School lunch doesn’t get much better than this, folks. I have to say, I didn’t have much of a liking for radicchio (among other things) before my year in Bra, but now I sure do. Some of my colleagues developed a habit of dipping the fresh bread into the daily yogurt–I thought that was a bit strange, and just twirled my pasta to my heart’s content.

IMG_0505

One of the more decadent moments of 2015: the hot chocolate at Caffe Converso, a glorious source of all things caffeine and sugar. It would be a stretch to call this a beverage. I think I could hear my blood pressure dropping as this homemade concoction entered my arteries. Any chocoholic’s dream come true.

IMG_1852

When the weather started to warm up (meaning I was too sweaty to bike home from school), I craved a tall glass of iced tea and water-loving fruits and vegetables. I pinky swear I didn’t stage this photo. I came back from the market with my tote bag, set everything out and I cut myself some nibbles to enjoy (see the big scary knife), and voila. A perfect Saturday.

IMG_2719

Breakfast is undoubtedly my favorite meal of the day. Still, brunch is usually a high stress situation involving mediocre coffee and ok eggs. There are a few that earned a spot in my heart though–the NYC winner in my book is Egg, out in Williamsburg, Brooklyn. The wait was just fine, and very much worth it for these sausages, grits, fried eggs, peaches, and a French press, all to myself. (They even give you crayons to distract you from your hunger pangs.)

IMG_2637

While based in New York, I hopped on the Amtrak a couple times to visit some friends down in Washington, D.C., including a similarly food-oriented one. This huge contraption in a skillet at Kapnos involved eggs, potato, feta, rosemary, and lamb to bring me back from the brink of quite a Saturday night out.

There are many, many more edible memories I could have included here, and many more that I hope to make this year, wherever that may be.

Leave a Reply

