Life in California
Leave a Comment

Hiking Around

The calm before the sort of unusual tiny rainstorm last week.

I’m no serious backpacker, but I do enjoy a nicely strenuous hike every now and again.

As I get to know Sonoma County on foot, I’ve also been enjoying little pit stops here and there, winding drives through tall trees, chatting with the passenger in my car.

I’ve got the Sonoma County Trails Challenge on the brain, urging me to just get out there and walk around.

For now, these are some of my go-to trails.

After work, when I just need some air and movement, I head to the Healdsburg Open Ridge Preserve. It’s a mix of gentle hills, open space, and shaded areas. Nothing crazy, but hits the spot.

IMG_4376 (1) IMG_4372

A few weeks ago, I did Pomo Canyon trail out on the Sonoma Coast with a friend. I’d recommend parking at Shell Beach, walking inland through all the ferns and wildflowers, and then ending back out at the beach for lunchtime. Roll those windows down afterwards for a luxurious drive down Highway 1 past oodles of beaches.

IMG_4312IMG_4365    IMG_4309IMG_4314

Next up on my list is a nibble of Mt. Tam and a leisurely walk at Riverfront in Windsor.

Leave a Reply

