Life in California
Leave a Comment

On Fish Vases and Seaweed Foraging

You know you work at a unique establishment when you’re ordering a cup of coffee and your next door neighbor offers to buy your cappuccino because out of the corner of her eye she just spotted these new fish vases we put out yesterday and she almost wiped out your whole supply!

Indeed, I’ve got fish, and bodies of water more generally, on the brain these days.

For the last few weeks, I’ve been honored to conduct outreach for the 2017 Good Food Awards as the co-chair of the newest committee: Preserved Fish. From my first day as an intern there, the curious researcher in me loved going out into markets and scouting new products to investigate, but this iteration of my involvement with the organization has me learning a lot from my colleagues about how we take care of our friends in oceans, rivers, and streams.

I’ve also got seaweed on the brain, dried bags of which are pictured in the photo above.

Last Thursday I did a crazy thing, which was to set my alarm for 4:30 AM so that I could drive out to my new favorite place, the Sonoma Coast, with two friends, to go harvesting for nori with this lady, Heidi Hermann of Strong Arm Farm.

IMG_4760

I had never done such a thing before, but it was strangely very soothing to pull huge clumps what basically looked like really wet lettuce from rocks during some of the lowest tides of the year.

When I lived abroad and told friends that I grew up in California, they always asked me if I went to the beach a lot. “No,” I said, “but the beach was 20 minutes away.” Looking back given how drawn I am to the coast right now, I almost not regret taking advantage of the gem that is Santa Cruz when I lived down in Saratoga.

But hey, looking ahead to many more adventures out on the Sonoma Coast, or like, just plopping down on a blanket with a book.

IMG_4660

Leave a Reply

